top of page

When I first came to the University of Cape Town in 2019 to study Mechatronics Engineering, I (and many others) possibly had no idea that we would be thrown into this world of COVID, online learning, sanitizing regularly, wearing masks when we go out and many many more (not to mention also the current social issues that pervade our world today). But as I write this blog post, I’ve come to realise that it could have honestly been so much worse.


Seeing that we almost began 2020 with an impending World War, helps to put things into perspective. As bad as COVID was in the beginning, South Africa has definitely persevered well through this outbreak thus far when you look at how we are in level 1 lockdown and at how case numbers have (for the second time now) gone down drastically.


Not to say that we should be lax with our adherence to protocols. Definitely continue to wear your mask and sanitize your hands (and consider taking the vaccine if you are by the means). But also realise that you, whoever is reading this, are here. You’ve made it through 2020! So keep persisting, because you have made it this far. As cliché as all this sounds, remember always that you are not alone, we are all in this together and I, for one am, somewhat hopeful that this year will be much better than the year that came before. I am super excited about the cool and exciting things I will be doing in my degree this year. And I am sure that there is something that you too can be excited about too. Whether it be the cool things that you are going to do in your degree (like me), or that wedding event that is coming up or even something small as meeting up with a friend for coffee tomorrow, I believe that there is always something to look forward to. So look forward to that excitement and let it sustain you through these challenging times, however small that excitement is, find that purpose to live. I know I have with my degree and my goals and aspirations. And above all, be grateful for the things you still have.


There is a great video on the Kurzgesagt channel on YouTube that talks about gratitude and how it ultimately leads to even more happiness, I highly recommend you watch it.


Be grateful for the small things in your life even in these tumultuous times. And better yet, find things to be grateful for, there will always be something that you can express gratitude for. Remember that through all you have been through, you are still breathing. And with every breathe you take it is a reminder that you still have a fighting chance at greatness, at happiness and at success. Whatever this may look like to you.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page